What are Registered Heritage Areas?

  • They are voluntary agreements.
  • They protect outstanding examples of the natural diversity occurring in the state.
  • They preserve populations of endangered, threatened, rare and important species of plants and animals.
  • They preserve unique and unusual natural features.
  • They encourage educational activities and scientific research.

What criteria qualify an area for Registry?

  • Exemplary natural communities characteristic of the ecosystems of North Carolina.
  • Habitat for plant or animal species that are in danger of extinction or decline.
  • Unique natural features such as old-growth forests or rare vegetation types.
  • Other significant ecological features.

Voluntary Agreements

For each registered area, an agreement is written that describes the ways the landowner and the Natural Heritage Program will work together to preserve the biological diversity of the natural area, protect the natural qualities, and maintain the area in as nearly a natural condition as possible. The agreement can be canceled at any time, although the Natural Heritage Program appreciates 30 days written notice.

For more information about registry agreements and the registry process, contact Scott Pohlman.